Lawmaker Poonam Mahajan replaces Anurag Thakur president of new BJP youth-wing

NEW DELHI:  In first major reshuffle in the party since he took over as BJP President for second time, Amit Shah tonight appointed first time Lok Sabha MP Poonam Mahajan as the party’s youth-wing president, replacing Anurag Thakur who was at the helm for over six years.

Mr Shah also named new chiefs for four other party wings – SC, ST, OBC and Kisaan morchas.

Ms Mahajan, 36, the new Bhartiya Janta Yuva Morcha President is daughter of late party leader Pramod Mahajan and currently a Lok Sabha member from Mumbai North-Central.

Vinod Sonkar, a Lok Sabha member from Kaushambi, Ramvichar Netam, a Rajya Sabha member from Chattisgarh, Virendra Singh ‘Mast’ and former MP Dara Singh Chauhan were named as new presidents of party’s SC, ST, Kisan and OBC wings respectively.

Mr Sonkar replaces Dushyant Kumar Gautam while Mr Netam, Mr Chauhan and Mr Singh come in place of Faggan Singh Kulaste, S P Singh Baghel and Vijaypal Singh Tomar respectively.

Virendra Singh, 60, is a third term MP who represents Bhadohi, Uttar Pradesh in Lok Sabha.

Mr Chauhan joined BJP last year after quitting BSP.

source by…NDTV ,The economic times

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS